Hey Victoria’s Secret, #addmetothelist of Perfect Bodies

King of Prussia Mall - Oct. 11, 2014

King of Prussia Mall – Oct. 11, 2014


It is 2014. We have the Dove campaign for Real Beauty. We have Aerie pledging to cut out Photoshop. Hell, even Special K has commercials about beauty in all sizes.

None of them are really believable – Aerie just uses young, blemish-free models and Special K’s point is still to get you to lose weight with their product.

But jeez, at least they’re trying.

Victoria’s Secret on the other hand appears to be completely stuck in the 90’s.

Photo credit: Miriam Ross

Photo credit: Miriam Ross

Vicky’s is blatantly sticking to their Photoshopped size 000 images of young women wearing elaborate hair extensions in every storefront across America, including their newest ad for their “Body by Victoria” line.

Now, look. The word body is in quotation marks. One could look at this ad and argue that they are not proclaiming these women have the perfect body.

But who are we kidding? Is that what you choose to see? Do you really stop and explain to your already confused brain that Vicky isn’t trying to body shame us, they’re just advertising a line they carry?

C’monnnnnn. Vicky. Join us in the 21st century, why don’t you?

Every body is perfect. Oh yea sister. Your body is like, so perfect. Every curve, every line, every scar, every crease, every layer, every roll, every freckle. The muscle that lies beneath and the skin that covers it all. It’s all perfecto. Do you believe me?

Whether you choose to shop at Victoria’s Secret or whether you choose to boycott it is not the real gamechanger here. The ultimate gamechanger here is truly accepting your body the way it is and actually believing that YOU have a perfect body.

The bodies in that modeled picture? Beautiful, right? If your body looks like this, beautiful. You are perfect. There’s nothing wrong with you. AND, if your body does not look like this, you’re also fucking beautiful. You are perfect. There’s nothing wrong with you. Your body is perfect.

 

So. Since Victoria’s Secret is advertising perfect bodies, I’m basically like, hey girl, add me to the list. My body is perfect, so let’s celebrate the perfectness together.

And I’m inviting you to join the celebration.

addmetothelist

Join the perfect body celebration in three steps!

1) Click it! Get thee to a mall and take a picture with the “perfect” ladies in the Victoria’s Secret window.

OR if you’re not so lucky to have a mall nearby, (hey, in Hawai’i, we don’t have a Vicky’s on the Big Island – lucky I was visiting Pennsylvania this weekend for this photo!) just take a picture of your perfect body right where you’re standing right now!

ALL BODIES ARE WELCOME. YES. SERIOUSLY. ALL THE BODIES. ALL OF ‘EM.

2) Tag it! Check out this hashtag, are you ready? #addmetothelist

Whether you add the hashtag #addmetothelist to the actual picture (I mean, hello hours on picmonkey, amiright?) or you Tweet it*, be sure to tag your photo with #addmetothelist. Post it to my Facebook page for sharing purposes and follow me on Twitter to see tons of perfect bodies shared all week long. And of course, ALOHA INSTAGRAM! Get those perfect bodies up there!

*Dude, if you Tweet it, be sure to tag @VictoriasSecret in your tweet along with your picture and the #addmetothelist tag – that’s how we will grab their attention!

3) Embrace it! Sharing a picture on Facebook is one thing, but believing that your body really is perfect just the way it is, is really what this is all about. Embrace every inch of that perfect stature of yours and fall in love with the skin you’re in. Need a little help with that? Check out this right here for a boost that might change your life.

Invite your perfect-bodied friends to join the celebration as well, because their bodies and their friends’ bodies and their friends’ friends’ bodies should be on the list too!

I’ll be sharing and retweeting your perfection and your courage with my followers and if we all join up for this perfection celebration, maybe, just maybe, we’ll grab the attention of those Victoria’s Secret perfection-obsessors and let them know that the body love movement is happening and there’s more than one version of perfect.

Maybe we won’t see a size 22 (or I mean, hey, even a size 6 would be adding diversity at this point) models in the windows at a Vicky’s anytime soon, but I think it’s important for you to step up and own your perfection and let those guys know we are here and we are proud and body love isn’t going anywhere.

It’s 2014. There’s a whole new definition of perfect. Let’s show it. Are you with us?

#addmetothelist. Ready, set, GO!

6 Comments on “Hey Victoria’s Secret, #addmetothelist of Perfect Bodies”

  1. Alanna says:

    I love this idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a great project! Love the idea!

    Like

  3. Cassandra says:

    This was an interesting read, simply because I have a completely different perspective when it comes to “love the skin you’re in” and “your body is perfect the way it is”. I struggle with several chronic diseases that leave me constantly very sick, in a great deal of pain, and it’s all just getting worse as time goes on. I’ve gained over 75 lbs. this past year due to medication, a more sedentary lifestyle due to illness and pain, and other things. We are still trying to figure out everything that is going on that’s making me so sick so that we can STOP it, hopefully reverse it even a little, and I can go back to living some sort of a normal life.

    So looking at the concept of “love your body the way it is” is a bit… different… for me. I don’t love my body, because it’s betrayed me. I hate how it acts and how it’s breaking down and slashing apart my hopes, dreams, and ability to live an independent future. But maybe I SHOULD. Maybe I need to flip my thinking and, instead of being disgusted at what I see as betrayal from a layer of my self, be proud of my body for how hard it fights every day, how well it has hung on and maintained ANY kind of normalcy, what it has survived and continues to on a regular basis, what I’m still able to do (no matter how extreme the level of effort). Maybe that’s something that will make a big difference. I don’t know yet.

    Kinda seems like it might end up being a “you and me, baby, against the world” scenario… just me and my body against the gremlins of disease that constantly accost. Maybe this is another dimension to the learning not to loathe myself work that I’ve been doing the past few years.

    I really DON’T love my body or want to celebrate the skin I’m in. I’m pissed at it, and I hate it, and I feel utterly betrayed. But maybe it’s time to change that.

    Like

    • trustyamanda says:

      Cassandra, for some reason, when we switched domain mapping for my blog a few weeks back, this comment wasn’t transferred over and I had seen it but couldn’t find it again to respond! Finally my web designer helped me back in to my original admin board to find you so I could respond. I’ve been thinking about you since you posted this back in October. Thank you so much for this valuable insight. It truly opened my eyes to something that no one is talking about in the world of body love – and that’s body betrayal and what comes along with it. I truly hope that you can change the way you feel about your body, but I completely understand why you’re PISSED. I would love to talk to you more about this and share your story to give a new perspective. I pray that you can find self-love in a body that continuously breaks down and slashes your dreams, as you said, and if there’s anything at all I can do to help, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do what I can. Much love and aloha, Amanda.

      Like


Aloha friend, leave your thoughts here!

